South Sudan

Jump to: navigation, search

The Republic of South Sudan or South Sudan is a country located in the North-Eastern Africa. It's current capital is Juba, but plans are underway to construct a new capital city at Ramciel.

The Republic of South Sudan and Sudan were part of Egypt until Sudan got independence in 1956. The First Sudanese civil war happened from 1955 to 1972, after which the Southern Sudan Autonomous Region was formed in 1972. The autonomous region lasted till 1983, when the Second Sudanese civil war started. A peace agreement was signed in 2005 and the autonomy was restored. South Sudan finally became independent on July 9, 2011.

It became a United Nations member on July 14, 2011 and joined the African Union on July 28, 2011.

Capital Juba
Official language English
Demonym South Sudanese
Government Federal presidential democratic republic
President Salva Kiir Mayardit
Vice President Riek Machar
Legislature National Legislature
Council of States (Upper House)
National Legislative Assembly (Lower House)
Area 619,745 sq. kms (239,285 sq. miles)
GDP (2011 Estimates) Total - $13.227 billion
Per captia - $1,546
Currency South Sudanese pound
Time Zone East Africa Time (UTC+3)


Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Central African Republic, Sudan are the neighboring countries of South Sudan.

See Also: Geography of South Sudan


Personal tools