South Sudan Judiciary

Jump to: navigation, search

The Judiciary of South Sudan (JOSS) is an independent decentralized institution as allowed by the constitution of the Republic of South Sudan. The Judiciary is independent of the Executive and Legislature. The Judiciary has its own budget and is financially independent.

The President of the Supreme court of South Sudan is the head of the Judiciary of South Sudan. He/she is answerable to the President of the Government for the administration of the judiciary.

Chan Reec Madut is the current Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Republic of South Sudan.


The Structure of South Sudan Judiciary is as follows:

  1. The Supreme Court of South Sudan
  2. Courts of Appeal
  3. High Courts
  4. County Courts
  5. Other courts or Tribunals (as deemed necessary to be established)
  6. New Sudan Judicial System — Court Hierarchy

External Links


Personal tools