States and Counties of South Sudan

Jump to: navigation, search

Flag of South Sudan

South Sudan is divided into ten states which correspond to three historical regions of the Sudan: Bahr el Ghazal, Equatoria, and Greater Upper Nile. Juba is the capital city.

The ten states are further subdivided into 86 counties.


September 2, 2011: The Council of Ministers of South Sudan has approved the capital city to be moved from Juba to Ramciel.

July 19, 2011: President Salva Kiir Mayardit said that Abyei is a region of South Sudan and reacted sharp for Sudan Armed Forces [SAF] occupied Abyei by force.
  • He said, 'On 20th and 21st May, the Sudan Armed Forces [SAF] occupied Abyei by force, it was invasion. Their intention by occupying Abyei was to make us retaliate and counter attack by fighting them in Abyei, so that we could not celebrate the 9th of July as the independence of Southern Sudan. I ignored all these and ordered the SPLA not to go because we knew what they were up to'.
  • 'The truth is here with us, Abyei belongs to us. Whether Omar al-Bashir likes it or not, one day Abyei will rejoin the South'


Personal tools