From SouthSudanInfo.com
Jump to: navigation, search


Warrap is one of the 10 states in South Sudan. Kuajok is the capital of Warrap state. It is in the Bahr el Ghazal region with an area of 31,027 km².



Warrap State Assembly

  • Speaker - Madot Dut Deng

Warrap Counties

Like all States of South Sudan, Warrap is divided into counties with each county headed by a county commissioner. The County Commissioners are appointed by the President of South Sudan.

Gogrial East County Deng Mariak Deng
Gogrial West Dut Baak Ngin
Tonj South County Joseph Atem Bak
Tonj North County Yol Mayar Mareng
Tonj East County Ireneo Yai Mum

Gogrial, Kuajok, Tonj, Thiet, Turalei, Akuon, and Panliet are some of the main cities of Warrap state.

Personalities from Warrap

  • Salva Kiir Mayaardit - the President of South Sudan
  • Alek Wek - International model
  • Manute Bol - NBA Star - buried in his hometown of Turalei in 2010 after his death


February 7, 2012: The parliament of Warrap State discusses the massive cattle raid in Tonj East County in late January.

December 22, 2011: The Warrap State Court dismisses the accusations against MP Marko Nguet Yai. Trader Valentino Wol claimed that Marko has cheated him in his business. Speaking to reporters, MP Marko Yai said that the accusations are politically motivated to assassinate his character.

August 19, 2011: One person died and two injured in an attack on the currency exchange center at Warrap forcing the official of Central Bank of South Sudan (CBoSS) evacuate the center to Wau in Western Bahr el Ghazal state. Minister of information and official spokesman of the government, Barnaba Marial Benjamin confirmed the attack. The deadline to end the exchange process is set for September 1, 2011.


Personal tools